15
Jul
08

Indifference…


 

Martin Niemöller (1892-1984, a prominent German anti-Nazi theologian and Lutheran pastor) wrote the following on the price of indifference:

“First they came for the Communists. I was silent. I was not a Communist. Then they came for the Social Democrats. I was silent. I was not a Social Democrat. Then they came for the Jews. I was silent. I was not a Jew. Then they came for me. There was no one left to speak for me.”

The opposite of love is not hate – it’s indifference.
The opposite of art is not ugliness – it’s indifference.
The opposite of faith is not disbelief – it’s indifference.
And the opposite of life is not death – it’s indifference.

Indifference creates artificial peace.

Indifference is harder to fight than hosility.

Indifference means having no opinion.

The worst sin towards our fellow creatures is not to hate them, but to be indifferent to them.

Indifference is the strongest force in the universe. It makes everything it touches meaningless. Love doesn’t stand a chance against it.

And so, Indifference becomes a personal matter…

Oh Lord, let me never become indifferent! Let me stay the extremist at heart, I am sometimes mockingly referred to by family, friends and loved-ones. Let me have an opinion. Let me love that which is good and let me hate that which is evil. Let me stand up for that which is unjust and wrong.

So, my dearest lover, friend, mother, father, son, daughter… allow me to love you with all my heart.

Please embrace my jealousy, because I fear losing you. 

Please permit my protectiveness, because I worry about you and all that is you. 

Please tolerate my tantrums, because sometimes my self-esteem is not dependent on me, but on your significance within me. 

Please endure my extremities – because I build thrones in my heart.

And please Forgive me all my shortcomings, weaknesses, limitations, failures and sins.

But, Lord, please spare me from indifference!


11 Responses to “Indifference…”


  1. July 15, 2008 at 1:42 pm

    Wow! Biebs dis mooi! Die inskrywing praat met my!
    Please embrace my jealousy, because I fear losing you. Please permit my protectiveness, because I worry about you and all that is you. Please tolerate my tantrums, because sometimes my self-esteem is not dependent on me, but on your significance within me.

  2. July 15, 2008 at 8:54 pm

    Dit is nou ‘n inskrywing wat mens laat nadink oor jouself en jou aksies. Dankie

  3. July 15, 2008 at 10:22 pm

    Se nou ons kan in ‘n wereld leef sonder indifference? Ek tjank sommer want ek het indifference beleef hierdie week. En dit was so so sad. Dit is beautiful woorde en ek print dit nou sodat ek dit oor en oor kan lees. But, Lord, please spare me from indifference!

  4. 4 Koeksuster
    July 16, 2008 at 8:59 am

    Spaar my van indifference!!

    Dit is werklik pragtig.

    Baie dankie.

  5. 5 demoerin
    July 16, 2008 at 9:09 am

    Sulke ware woorde BB. Kahlil Gibran het geskryf: Desire is half of life; indifference is half of death. Laat mens wonder hoeveel mense al hulle lewens deur die eue verloor het na aanleiding van indifference. So ‘n lekker traak my nie, so ek gee nie om houding. Laat my wonner hoe ver Thabo en Malbob hulle indifference nog gaan vat oor die Zimmers se haaglike daaglikse omstandighede.

  6. July 16, 2008 at 6:49 pm

    Baie dankie, dit laat mens rerig dink…

  7. 7 Zee
    July 16, 2008 at 11:00 pm

    BB, ek hoop ek sal darem ook van indifference gespaar bly. Stunning inskrywing wat mens regtig ook aan die dink laat sit hoor!

  8. 8 DGS
    July 17, 2008 at 10:46 pm

    Jislaaik!! Dis bietjie van ‘n aanklag teen ons almal.

    Loshande die beste blogpossie wat ek in ‘n lang tyd gelees het…

  9. July 21, 2008 at 12:16 pm

    Die pic is verskriklik treffend. Ek het nognie die res gelees nie.

  10. 10 BB
    July 21, 2008 at 1:05 pm

    Issit nie Skoor?? Was vir my netso!

  11. July 21, 2008 at 4:05 pm

    Ek se jou, as ek kon teken, sou ek so teken… Maar nou kan ek nie teken nie! Maar ek hou steeds van die styl. Dankie dat jy dit geblog het. Nou het ek vandag iets nice gesien.


Leave a Reply

July 2008
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 153,414 hits

