09
Oct
09

Where mortals fear to tread (part 1)


I wanted to be a doctor. Or a nurse. Or in some kind of field where I could nurse and care for and help heal people. The sick, the hurt, the bleeding and the wounded. I wanted to be a Florence Nightingale of sorts…

I met my future mother-in-law in St 8. She worked at the Marifont Maternity Hospital in Pretoria. It was the first time I had been able to be in a hospital as a ‘caregiver’ – on the ‘giving’ instead of the receiving end. I attended a natural birth :shock:  It was a total mess! I almost died!😯 I passed out and had to be resuscitated. The instrument trolley too…:mrgreen: I never really got to witness the birth😦 I never got to care for or help heal anybody… other than myself and the nasty bump on my own head.

I was advised not to attempt a career in the medical field – apparently there would always be blood, sweat and gore involved in one way or another🙄 . Then I received an invite to visit the local mortuary. A friend worked there part-time and asked me whether I would be interested in ‘undertaking’ – i.e. make-up, hair and dressing dearly departed for the ‘occasion’. I was so fascinated! And decided to give it a try. I can’t tell you how, although it may seem macabre, satisfying it was to perform/pay (almost) the very last respect/dignity for a person in this way.

It was one of the most rewarding undertakings (literally) that I had ever been involved in.


8 Responses to “Where mortals fear to tread (part 1)”


  1. October 9, 2009 at 7:25 am

    Nee, Beebs, jy kan dit nie daar los nie! Ek wil weet of jy die lykshuis oorleef het! 😆

  2. October 9, 2009 at 10:03 am

    Nee man, watse halwe stories is dit die??

  3. 3 Krista
    October 9, 2009 at 10:30 am

    Untill what???

  4. October 9, 2009 at 10:32 am

    Bwhahahaha….. Dit gaan ‘n show stopper wees… Kyk jou aanhangers!

    Oukie… Jy het die verkeerde beroep… Ek dink jy sal die laaik “apparently there would always be blood, sweat and gore involved in one way or another”

  5. 5 Krista
    October 9, 2009 at 1:11 pm

    Sien uit na part2!

  6. October 9, 2009 at 1:25 pm

    Nou maak jy nes die mense op TV, los dit daar en dan moet ons ‘n week wag. Ek was lanklaas so nuuskierig BB. Ek MOET weet!

  7. October 9, 2009 at 3:19 pm

    Come on! Hoop nie ek hoef te wag tot Maandag nie!

  8. October 29, 2009 at 3:27 pm

    Ja en F5 of so iets???


Leave a Reply

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Dec »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 153,414 hits

