26
Mar
10

The L-Word…


 

I write songs. On request. Mostly wedding songs. Thus – most always Love songs…

They are exclusively written for your wedding. I guarantee uniqueness. I don’t commit plagiarism – I don’t copy or steal or borrow words, phrases or music from anyone.

I feel about my songs, much like I feel about my children – (and they cost me about the same:mrgreen: ) – they are of me, but not from me. They are the product of caring and nurturing and developing a God-given talent, which is sooo satifying to share, because I get to give something special to people that could last a lifetime.

When someone approaches me with a request, they tell me their ‘story’ or that which they want to express in the song. It is the most important part of the whole process. For me to get under their skin, so to speak. Into their hearts & minds. And I feel blessed to regularly receive an e-mail that says: “It’s almost as if I have written it myself”…. And THAT is the greatest compliment for me. It humbles me to know that I can give something to two people to take with them into their future… It is also one of the few things they actually can – photos… rings…

The icing on the cake’s gone beige

the once yummy inside’s reached crumble stage

 the flowers have wilted – the dress has shrunk

(the bridegroom’s turned into a skunk)🙄

I still have the ring though, the sign of his love

and proof that we married – in an old photograph

Oh, and lest I forget: we have our own special song –

to which, after all these years, we still sing along😉

It’s the ONE thing we share since that perfect day

it reminds us forever why we wanted to say: …

…”I DO”:mrgreen:

 ~~

Now, with regard to the L-word… so, you probably thought I was talking about L O V E ?😕

Right?

Wrong!

Ok, not so wrong – but still…

 ~~ 

I received a request today.

From a woman.

Wonderfully worded.

Asking me to write a song for her partner.

For her upcoming wedding.

With a woman.🙄

JellyMuffin.com - The place for profile layouts, flash generators, glitter graphics, backgrounds and codes

Get it? The L-word?

Now, before you threaten to accuse me of discrimination – hear me out, will you please?!

 Of course I replied. Of course I said ‘yes’, I would write a song. In a way I feel different about this one… it doesn’t somehow make sense in my head, but I feel more humbled by this than any previous request. Maybe because this person, who must have experienced her fair share of prejudice and intolerance from who else –  ‘straight’ people, must have mustered an enormous amount of courage to approach me of all people to ‘do the honours’, so to speak.

I replied with the usual questions… what kind of song… genre… style… rhythm… is it for the ceremony… for the party… any specific message? fun? profound? spiritual?

I didn’t have to ask about the other L-word… that is: the Love part. (I had read the original request a couple of times.) I could read love in between each carefully constructed line.

I received the second e-mail an hour ago. It answers all my questions. She wants a uptempo (fun) loving yet mildly passionate declaration – a little bit ‘hot’, a little bit ‘tongue-in-cheek’, a little bit of Spanish kinda pop🙄 – no particular reference to sexual orientation – to dance on and to sing to…😕

I have no problem whatsoever in writing the song… half of it is already in my memory – some of it stored as draft on my cellphone – I explained to her, that I write for men as well, which is sometimes even easier than the other seemingly more emotional style (from woman to man) – so I’ll write it almost as if  ‘to myself’ – as I as a woman would like to be represented in a (‘hot’ & ‘mildly passionate’) song with a spanish pop feel.

 One thing will be weird though. My client is thrilled that I will be singing the song – seeing I’m a girl – according to her, it’ll be “perfect”!.

I really do hope, like with all other songs I write on request, that this will be as close to perfect as the expectations are.

Depending on the completed lyrics, I may have to make a public statement about my orientation…

…or not :wink:  

 *MWAH* Allermooistes!!

Be good – and be assured – you’ll be the very first to hear the song once it has been delivered. Deal?! 

I aim to write thé L-anthem of all Time!!


11 Responses to “The L-Word…”


  1. 1 Krista
    March 28, 2010 at 3:09 pm

    Hierdie gaan een van die mees amazingste songs ooit wees!

  2. March 29, 2010 at 10:47 am

    Stuur tog vir my ook die Songkie toe Graatjie!

    xxx

    • 3 BB
      March 29, 2010 at 1:28 pm

      Skoortjie – hierdie gaan nie jou average kinda love-song weesie, jong🙄 ek weet darem nie of jou hart dit gaan kan hou nie – myne kan skaars😯
      Ek’t nou maar oorie naweek eers die lyrics klaargemaak… sal dit virrie antie stuur en dan hoor ons maar eers wat sê sy…

  3. March 31, 2010 at 3:57 am

    Dalk as ek ook songs geskryf het, sou ek ook hieroor gewonder het. Maar nou is ek maar net ‘n dowwe dolla sonder enige songs in my kop ~ en ek kan nie sien hoekom dit ‘anders’ moet wees as enige ander lovesong nie? 🙄 Mense is mense, liefde is liefde…die een nie meer snaakser of meer special as die ander een nie, of hoe? Ek sien uit daarna om dit te hoor, Beebs! 😉

    • 5 BB
      March 31, 2010 at 4:52 am

      Ek stem saam Rooies! Seg ek mos ook – Love is Love… maar sekerlik gaan dit netso weird vir hierdie girl voel om ‘n man te serenade, of vir ‘n gay man om ‘n lovesong vir ‘n vrou te skryf – dis maar al – dit was nog nooit binne my verwysingsraamwerk nie.
      Dis belangrik dat ek, wanneer ek die song skryf en sing dit met oortuiging doen, reg? En dis vir my dalk bietjie ‘weird’ – om ‘n ander girl te laat voel die song is vir haar – deur ‘n female gesing. Sy gaan beslis nie dieselfde waardering hê daarvoor as ek my boetie vra om dit te record nie. Of het ek dit nou heeltemal verkeerd? Dalk is dit baie eenvoudiger as dit🙄
      Me thinks, me thinks too much…😕

  4. 6 PlaasJuppie
    March 31, 2010 at 10:06 am

    Me thinks iemand se website moet weer ‘n slag ge-update word met nuwe flyers en so. But me says liewers niks😉

  5. 7 Die skim
    March 31, 2010 at 1:05 pm

    Jy leer vinnig PJ – met die antie moet n mens nie sukkel nie

    • 8 BB
      March 31, 2010 at 1:13 pm

      Jy’t dit verkeerd Skim!! PJ is my Administrator – dis met hóm wat mens nie sukkel nie. Anders kry jy dalk regtig met my te doen👿

  6. 9 PlaasJuppie
    April 1, 2010 at 10:41 am

    Moenie vir my kyk nie, ek werk net hier. Dit is nou sodra die baas vir my gesê het wat om te doen.

  7. April 1, 2010 at 11:32 am

    Graatjie, Nikita vra die oor Liza se Klavier:

    Nikita said 18 hours ago:
    hi Skoor
    Ek moet nogal met jou saamstem. Ek dink dis op Youtube waar ek ook een gesien het. Ek het dit nog nie in Engels gehoor nie, vra haar om dit op Youtube vir ons op te laai!

  8. 11 BB
    April 1, 2010 at 1:26 pm

    Skoortjie – ek dink hy is op: http://myspace.com/birgitbarrett – kan nie nou gaan bevestig nie – my &^%@*&%👿 firewall verhoed my, maar ek kan sweer ek het dit daar gelaai??
    Sovêr ek verstaan het een van ons favorite bands Clint & Co ook ‘n engelse vertaling en opname gemaak… weet nie of hulle dit al vrygestel het nie – het dit wel al op die radio gehoor.


Leave a Reply

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 153,255 hits

