30
Apr
10

My Pride and Joy


 

My EMM (Enigste Mooiste Meisiekind)

 

 

You are now officially educated. 

Your certification is in your degree. 

You may think of it as the ticket to a better life – success – wealth – maybe even fame and fortune…  

Let me ask you to consider the alternative, my EMM. 

Think of it as your ticket to change the future…

One person at a time.

 

 

I look back often with appreciation to the brilliant teachers in my life, but especially with gratitude to those who touched my heart in more ways than mere intellectual education.

The one who taught me that poetry is as vital to thinking as knowledge.

The one who taught from the heart and not from a book.

The one who taught me to get along with people.

The one who gave me something to take home to think about besides homework.

The one who taught me never to stop questioning.

The one who told me to remember that neither success nor failure are ever final.

The one who showed me that the stars are within me. That I needn’t reach high, but deep.

 

Since I can remember you had always wanted to be a teacher.

And since then I have always seen in you all the great teachers I was blessed with in life.

I always knew that you were born to be one.

How could I not?

For you, from the moment you walked into my life, have taught me

patiently, tirelessly and confidently

to never let go of a dream

to find within myself what I had believed to be beyond my reach

to still chase after rainbows

to never give up

and most of all:

that it doesn’t take skill or talent or qualification to be your mother;

that enough love

would always be enough.

 

 

God het ‘n Meisiekind gemaak – ‘n dierbare een!

Hy het haar ‘n glimlag van sonskyn gegee en ‘n hart van goud.

In haar oë het Hy sterre geplaas en rose oor haar wange gevee.

En haar toe vir die wêreld gegee…

en die wêreld weet dalk nie aldag hoe om haar te waardeer nie.

Maar ek weet.

Ek weet beslis!

Dank God, ek weet!

~~

 


11 Responses to “My Pride and Joy”


  1. 1 PlaasJuppie
    April 30, 2010 at 11:16 am

    Baie geluk M met die sleutel tot jou toekoms, en geluk ook aan die trotse mamma BB, you did more than just Ok😉

  2. 2 Krista
    April 30, 2010 at 3:57 pm

    Baie geluk!

  3. May 1, 2010 at 11:23 am

    Sjoe, sulke mooie woorde soos net ‘n Moeder kan. Baie geluk, aan julle altwee🙂

  4. 4 Günter + Violette
    May 2, 2010 at 1:48 pm

    Liebe Monique
    Ganz herzliche Glückwünsche zur erfolgreich abgeschlossenen Lehrerausbildung. Eine hübsche Lehrerin ist das, was wir da zu sehen bekommen! Wir wünschen Dir viel Erfolg und Freude in Deinem Beruf, und Deinen Schülern, dass sie gut und viel bei Dir lernen. Wir hoffen nur, dass das Departement Dich nicht zu weit in die gramadoelas versetzen wird.
    Alles liebe
    Dein Opa

    • 5 BB
      May 3, 2010 at 7:31 am

      Hahaha!! ‘gramadoelas’ nogal… my Papi is wragtig ‘n taal-connoisseur, is hy nie?? Sien julle nou waar’t ek my liefde vir nie net taal maar spesifiek die eie-woorde – daai wat maar net om de dood nie vertaalbaar is nie – gekry?
      Blykbaar is gramadoelas se oorsprong as volg: Xhosa induli (berge/heuwels) of moontlik Nguni ‘amaduli’… die ‘gra’ vooraan was oorspronklik net ‘ga’ soos in verkorting van ‘gaan’… dis maar wat ek kon opspoor. Interesting nonetheless, nê?

      Nein, mein Paps – keine gramadoelas für unsere Puppe. Sie hat eine Stelle bei einer Sonderschule in der Umgebung – für lehr- und gehörbehinderte Kinder. (‘Schwerhörig’ sind ja eigentlich alle Kinder, meint sie😉 ). Sie ist wirklich eine grossartige ‘juffrou’!!

  5. May 2, 2010 at 3:46 pm

    As dit nie vir die “cap and gown” was nie, sou ek gewonder het wie is student en wie is ma😉 Baie geluk en dis pragtig geskryf.

    • 7 BB
      May 3, 2010 at 7:34 am

      Hey Girl! Photoshop isse wonderlike tool:mrgreen: Maar dankie, né?!

  6. May 3, 2010 at 5:25 am

    Woop woop!
    Ware woorde daardie BB, dit gaan nie net bloot oor kennis oordra nie, dit gaan oor die geleendheid om lewens te kan verander. Ek is seker daarvan dat as sy net bietjie van jou voorbeeld volg, sy nogsteeds meer as geliefd gaan wees.

    • 9 BB
      May 3, 2010 at 7:32 am

      Og dankie DMi!😳

  7. 10 H
    May 4, 2010 at 10:58 am

    Baie geluk – jy kan baie trots wees op haar – maar met n ma soos jy ( wat kan enige kind nou meer vra van die lewe ) H

    • 11 BB
      May 5, 2010 at 6:50 am

      Thank you my Love😳


Leave a Reply

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 153,414 hits

