25
Jul
10

A Father Of The Heavenly Kind


 

I have certainly put “mein Papa” through his paces…

He watched as I made bad decisions and poor choices.  

And he loved me anyway.  

He let me fall, but only so far as I could take it.  

And loved me anyway.  

Knowing I had a free (and stubborn!!) will, he watched as I made bad relationship choices, bad career decisions, bad financial judgments and took just plain stupid actions.

And loved me anyway.  

He watched.  He waited.  He helped.  

He loved me anyway.  

He never abandoned me. Never gave up on me.

I never had to worry whether a prodigal daughter’s welcome would be there, because he never allowed me to doubt his love.  He always loved.  Always hoped.  

He has always been there, seeing the best in me, cheering me on and loving me all the while.

So yes.  I’m blessed.  Because my dad is a true reflection of God our Father, here on earth.  

He’s got all the father-God characteristics one could hope to have in a father.

He’s given me so much. And so freely. I just have to look to him.

~♥~

 Father! – to God himself we cannot give a holier name.  ~William Wordsworth

~♥~

He’s always available. Always close. He lives 8000+ km’s away from me – yet he is but a phonecall, an email, a heartbeat away. Much like God is a prayer away. Mostly waiting patiently to hear from me.  Sad when he doesn’t. And thrilled when he does.

So often I’m reminded that I tend to view my relationship with God, our Father, through the lens of my relationship with my father here on earth.  

I firmly believe that although my father never nudged me to go to church, never read me Bible verses, didn’t teach me how to pray or ever gave me any religious motivation – he is the one who made it so unbelievably easy for me to believe in God, our Heavenly Father.

And I am blessed. To have a father who (unwittingly maybe?) has shown me a glimpse of what God’s love is like.  To be able to believe that that’s how God loves me. That’s what God has done and will do for me. How God forgives me. And know that in the end, that and so much more is who God is.  The ultimate father.  

~♥~

The greatest gift I ever had…
…it came from God – I call him: Dad!

~♥~

It’s mein Papa’s Birthday today.

And because I don’t believe in random genetic selection or hit-and-miss conception, I firmly believe that when God breathed His breath into that baby boy 72 years ago, He already had me in mind too. He knew that that boy would one day be His representative on earth to a little girl who didn’t deserve it, but would need someone to show her the Glory of His Love.  

Zu Deinem Wiegenfest, die Allerherzlichsten Segenswünsche, mein geliebter Papa!

 

 

Zufrieden sein – ist große Kunst
Zufrieden scheinen – bloßer Dunst
Zufrieden werden – Großes Glück!
Zufrieden bleiben – Meisterstück!!

~♥~


7 Responses to “A Father Of The Heavenly Kind”


  1. July 25, 2010 at 5:08 am

    Dit is pragtig BB. Hoe wens ek elke kind kan groot word met so ‘n Vader. Jy is voorwaar geseend en baie geluk met sy verjaardag.

    • 2 BB
      July 26, 2010 at 6:18 am

      Jy weet Antjie, as iemand só 100% PA kan wees al is hy so vêr weg (sedert my Hoërskool loopbaan al lewe ons op 2 verskillende halfrondtes) – dan is dit betreurenswaardig hoeveel kinders met hulle pa’s onder dieselfde dak grootgeword het en nie ‘n greintjie van die invloed/liefde/ondersteuning/trots/opvoeding gehad het as ek nie. My Pa het somehow verseker dat die konsep van fisiese afstand basies geen effek op ons verhouding gehad het nie. Hy was netso aktief betrokke by my stabiliteit, sekuriteit en comfort as my ma. Altyd versorgend, altyd voorsorgend. Altyd bemoeid – met skool, kultuur en kontak. Ja, fisies het ek hom VREESLIK gemis. Doen steeds…😦 maar so oneindig dankbaar dat ek juis dié een gekry het.

      Enigste hick-up van ‘n long distance relationship met ‘n ouer: As ons bymekaar uitkom, verwag hy vaguely tog steeds, die 11-jarige melkwit wipsnoet met wie hy saamgeleef het destyds en ek skrik my byna elke keer eina-seer virrie die silwer-silwer van ‘n eens blink byna blouswart haredos.:mrgreen:

  2. 3 CHAOS
    July 26, 2010 at 5:30 am

    Nog n rede hoekom jy so n ongelooflike awesome mens is – lief jou en baie geluk ( volgende jaar is ons daar ) xh

    • 4 BB
      July 26, 2010 at 5:42 am

      Goeie invloed of goeie gene?😉

  3. 5 Krista
    July 26, 2010 at 7:50 am

    Baie geluk BB’s papa!

  4. 6 Günter Wenk
    July 26, 2010 at 10:18 am

    Meine liebe Birgit
    Sooooooviel Lob hätte noch nicht einmal der beste aller Väter verdient. Es ist zuviel des Guten! Eigentlich habe ich nicht mehr getan, als was jeder anständige Vater für seine Tochter machen würde.
    Aber ich danke Dir von Herzen für die warmen Worte, die mich wirklich glücklich fühlen lassen.
    Immer,
    Dein Papa

  5. July 26, 2010 at 5:06 pm

    Voorwaar geseend die twee duitsertjies!


Leave a Reply

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 153,414 hits

