Archive for April 24th, 2009

24
Apr
09

One word…


Got a really thought-provoking email yesterday. It asked which word I would erase from my vocabulary if I could.
Got me thinking… and thinking… and more thinking (and I don’t think all that well at the best of times – oh, I ponder, I wonder, I muse and I brood, but thinking doesn’t come easily… 😉

 thoughts

I’ve been up all night

Tossing and a-turning

No, there was no fight!!

(and the sheet’s aren’t a-burning 😳 )

 ’twas a thought in my head

That kept me from sleep

So, when I hit the bed

I didn’t count sheep…

 

Instead I counted one by one

The words I use, but wished them gone

And finally! just before the break of dawn

When Helge said: “My Love, Good morn’!!” 😉 (ok so sue me – I’m a rhymer) :mrgreen:

It hit me right between the eyes

that word I know so well –

the one I often use with sighs

when of my ‘musts’ I tell:

I HAVE to go to work today

I HAVE to mail a friend

I HAVE before the month of May

to change my ‘HAVE to’ trend

I HAVE to write that song this week

I HAVE to go to church

I HAVE to find and HAVE to seek

An answer to my ‘HAVE to’ search…

 

Now, that was just the easy part

To find the culprit bother

But now my mind plays mindful art

To swap it with another

And as I’ve told y’all before

I have no problem brooding

But when my brain requires more

The answers keep eluding…

And just as I was ’bout to quit

And yell “to hell with thinking!!”

As if by lightning I was hit

(feels much like I’d been drinking…) 😀

 

I GOT it – Yes!! I got the phrase

Which I from now on’ll use

So HAVE I simply can erase

Put GET in HAVE’s ol’ shoes:

I GET to go to work today

I GET to mail a friend

I GET before the month of May

To change my ‘HAVE to’ trend

I GET to write that song this week

I GET to go to church

I GET to find and GET to seek

My new-found “GET to” ‘s worth!!

 

 
 

 

get

 I GET to get some sleep tonite :mrgreen: GET it? 

 

 




April 2009
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 186,425 hits